Reflections

New Year’s Resolutions 2012

I’m a little slow on the “Happy New Year!” thing, but I’ll blame it on my extended vacation. My routine is still a bit off from spending the holidays in a place with no wireless connection, excessive amounts of food, and an intense desire to “relax.”

So now that we’re into the second week of 2012, I finally have some goals (do people still make/follow resolutions?) that I think will help get me through my first full YEAR of being a Ph.D. student.

  1. Schedule some fun time. This past semester, I blocked off a few evenings to spend time with my partner and just hang out. I was skeptical about whether or not I’d follow an arbitrary schedule, but I did, and I’ll definitely be doing it again!
  2. Do more yoga. I’ve been (loosely) practicing Ashtanga yoga for ~8 years, and it’s a great way to both exercise and relax. It makes me feel more alert, energized, and motivated.
  3. Streamline my reading/notetaking processes. Last semester was the first time I’ve taken reading notes on my computer. It worked okay, but I think I could improve the process. I recently acquired an iPad (thanks, Santa) and purchased the iAnnotate app. I haven’t done too much with it yet, but it seems like it will be helpful (Re: “Making the Most of iAnnotate on the iPad” and “Mark up PDFs on Your iPad: iAnnotate PDF”). Plus, it syncs to Dropbox, which could help motivate me to organize my Dropbox account…
  4. Attend 2 – 3 conferences. This one’s kind of a gimme because I was accepted to 3! They’re all in the same semester, and two of them are in the same week, so I may need to make some choices. Either way, very exciting!
  5. Join an organization or committee. I’m really interested in joining Syracuse’s own BCCC: Beyond Compliance Coordinating Committee. It would also be fun to join a committee within my department.
  6. Try 30 new recipes. I love to bake, and my partner likes to cook. We tend to fall into patterns of making/eating the same things, though. I own enough cookbooks and follow enough food blogs (Joy the Baker, Crepes of Wrath, Skinny Taste, Smitten Kitchen, etc.) to do this easily. I just added a magnetic notepad to the fridge, which will be perfect for documenting new recipes.
  7. Publish one piece of writing. And no, not a tweet (although I do want to keep up with Twitter!). It would be feasible to publish something in a yeareven if that something is a review.
Joy of Tech's "New Year's Resolutions for 2012"
"New Year's Resolutions for 2012" via JoyofTech.com

And of course, there are a lot of resolutions out there that are totally worth supporting. “12 Realistically Mundane New Year’s Resolutions” is a great one, and “Four Digital Resolutions for 2012” is certainly sound advice. There will be more goals set throughout the year, but I always get tripped up if I set too many at once.

So, ultimately, I plan to pace myself—to take everything one step at a time, get it all done, and enjoy it.

One thought on “New Year’s Resolutions 2012

Leave a Reply

