Uncategorized

Summer Reading List 2015

I figure this summer is the last one in a while that I’ll have lots of “free” time (in between prepping three courses, working on some new research, splashing around in CNY lakes with Q dog, and packing and moving down South), so I’m putting together a reading list of all the things I’ve been wanting to read but haven’t (because dissertating). And I’m sharing them here because I’ll hopefully end up blogging about some of them. Some of them are things I’ve skimmed or started to read, but most of them are totally new to me, which is exciting in an incredibly nerdy way. First are some “easy” things: academic articles. These are a mix of multimodal (/digital) rhetoric, technical communication, and disability studies.

  • Alexander, Jonathan, and Jacqueline Rhodes. “Flattening Effects: Composition’s Multicultural Imperative and the Problem of Narrative Coherence.” College Composition and Communication 65.3 (2014): 430-54.
  • Bowdon, Melody A. “Tweeting an Ethos: Emergency Messaging, Social Media, and Teaching Technical Communication.” Technical Communication Quarterly 23 (2015): 35-54.
  • Buck, Elisabeth H. “Assessing the Efficacy of the Rhetorical Composing Situation with FYC Students as Advanced Social Media Practitioners.” Kairos 19.3 (2015): Web.
  • Ceraso, Steph. “(Re)Educating the Senses: Multimodal Listening, Bodily Learning, and the Composition of Sonic Experiences.” College English 77.2 (2014): 102-23.
  • Frost, Erin A., and Michelle F. Eble. “Technical Rhetorics: Making Specialized Persuasion Apparent to Public Audiences.” Present Tense 4.2 (2015). Web.
  • Hurley, Elise Verzosa, and Amy C. Kimme Hea. “The Rhetoric of Reach: Preparing Students for Technical Communication in the Age of Social Media.” Social Media in Technical Communication. Spec. issue of Technical Communication Quarterly 23 (2014): 55-68.
  • Kopelson, Karen. “Risky Appeals: Recruiting to the Environmental Breast Cancer Movement in the Age of ‘Pink Fatigue.’” Rhetoric Society Quarterly 43.2 (2013): 107-33.
  • Lauer, Claire. “Expertise with New/Multi/Modal/Visual/Digital/Media Technologies Desired: Tracing Composition’s Evolving Relationship with Technology through the MLA JIL.” Computers and Composition 34 (2014): 60-75.
  • McNely, Brian. “The ‘When’ of Rhetorical Literacies.” Kairos 19.3 (2015): Web.
  • Pigg, Stacey. “Emplacing Mobile Composing Habits: A Study of Academic Writing in Networked Social Spaces.” College Composition and Communication 66.2 (2014): 250-75.
  • Purdy, Jim. “What Can Design Thinking Offer Writing Studies?” College Composition and Communication 65.4 (2014): 612-41.
  • Price, Margaret. “The Bodymind Problem and the Possibilities of Pain.” Hypatia 30.1 (2015): 268-84.

Next are some collections and books that are all situated within disability studies.

  • Improving Feminist Philosophy and Theory by Taking Account of Disability. Spec. issue of Disability Studies Quarterly 33.4 (2013). Web.
  • Kafer, Alison. Feminist, Queer, Crip. Bloomington: Indiana UP, 2013.
  • Sequenzia, Amy, and Elizabeth J. Grace. Typed Words, Loud Voices. Autonomous Press, 2015.
  • Wendell, Susan. The Rejected Body: Feminist Reflections on Disability. New York: Routledge, 1997.  

And then finally are some for-fun books (with links to their reviews).

I don’t know if I’ll make it through them all, but I’ll be happy even if I just get through half. Getting to read articles and books slowly (and not just because I need to read them for a particular project) is such a luxury. What are y’all reading this summer? *** Edited to add: Although I found the NY Times summer reading list totally uninspiring, I would recommend checking out “Honoring Black Writers: 25 Books for Your Summer Reading List” and “9 Books That Redefine ‘Crazy.'”

2 thoughts on “Summer Reading List 2015

  1. I’ve been tearing through the YA fantasy-ish The Raven Cycle (starts with The Raven Boys) by Maggie Stiefvater — it’s compelling, and just stays that way. I say fantasy-ish because it is, definitely, fantasy (there are mythical kings and ghosts and ley lines and 16 year olds who know how to act cool) but the grasp on interpersonal relationships and also the setting is what keeps me. It’s set in a small, mostly working-class town that hosts a fancy same-sex school people come from other places to go to in central Virginia, and it’s written by someone from the area, and I end up with Feelings about it. (The author recently spoke at Hollins’ MFA program.)

    Another good one for nonfiction is What If? Which is by Randall Munroe, the guy who draws XKCD and who I didn’t realize also has worked for places like NASA in physics/engineering. People submit ridiculous science questions to him on the site and he does his best to logically answer them. I had to wait a long time for a free one to be available in the library 😉

    This is not a book, but: see Pride if you have time and haven’t yet. It’s great.

    This is ALSO not a book, but: I’m curious if you’ve seen Mad Max, and if you had thoughts re: the portrayals of disability in the movie?

    1. ooh thanks for sharing! The Raven Cycle sounds great, and I had NO idea that Randall Munroe had worked for NASA either…I’ve been looking for more fun things to read because all my reading goes into academic reading, which is fun…in a different way.

      I’ll definitely check out Pride. I’ve recently started watching movies (I never really watched them growing up), but I always get overwhelmed about which ones to watch because I always seem to choose really terrible, biased documentaries.

      I haven’t seen Mad Max! I wishing I could remember which of my Fb friends posted an article reviewing Charlize Theron’s character…I did see one angry tweet about how there are eugenicist undertones, but most of the reviews I’ve seen are pretty positive. I read this blog post from someone who’s a fetal amputee (and includes spoilers and is lovely): http://nospockdasgay.tumblr.com/post/119381643753/my-reaction-to-mad-max-fury-road-and-the-utter And I’ve seen the arguments about whether or not it’s feminist. Did you see it? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

